lent and prayers.

16Feb07

Next Wednesday is Ash Wednesday., and the beginning of Lent, my favourite season in the liturgical year. I love the focus on forgiveness and rebirth that comes with the season, especially since my niece and nephew will be baptized at the Easter vigil.

I love Lent. In stead of giving something up this year, I’m going to (try to) go to mass every morning before work, and on days when I don’t, to pray the liturgy of the hours. As long as I have the book for the liturgy of the hours before Lent starts…

I’ve had a couple of suggestions to pray the rosary to focus my prayer, because by the time you finish, most of the time you aren’t paying a whole lot of attention to the words, but are present to God. And I do like praying the rosary, but frequently I haven’t got that much time to pray the rosary when I’m in the chapel. I also had a suggestion to meditate on the three persons in one God through the Sign of the Cross, and that has been working quite well. Last week, in the chapel before class, someone was rehearsing on the organ, which seriously helps me focus, so I will be looking for pipe organ music to download.

I also managed to come up with my own prayer to chant. “God grant me the faith to seek your will, the wisdom to know your will and the courage to do your will.”

It works, sort of. I would still like something easier and shorter, but I’ll take what I can get.

I’m not sure what made me decide that this year I want to go to mass every day, but in part I think it has to do with offering my whole day up to God, and I think the best way to do that would be to start every day with mass and the summit and centre of my faith. And the Liturgy of the Hours is something I’ve long wanted to learn. I like structure in my prayer..

Obviously.

There was something else I wanted to write about but I can’t seem to remember what it was. That’s a sure sign I need some sleep.

Oh, yes, I want to find a spiritual director.

No Responses Yet to “lent and prayers.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

