Inspired by AQ

20Feb07

Well, I know what inspired the prayer I’ve been using to focus, it resembles a great deal, the prayer of St. Thomas Aquinas. Surprise? Not at all.

Grant me, O Lord my God,
a mind to know you,
a heart to seek you,
wisdom to find you,
conduct pleasing to you,
faithful perseverance in waiting for you,
and a hope of finally embracing you.

I’m sure I heard it at Aquinas, during St. Thomas Aquinas week, probably while I was wandering around the labyrinth they used to build in the ballroom. I’m kind of disappointed that I’ve missed it since graduation, and there’s nothing like it here.

Er, well, I suppose most schools don’t celebrate spirit week with a week dedicated to the patron saint. But that is what happens at a Catholic school with slightly twisted priorities and no sports teams of any merit to speak of.

I haven’t gotten my liturgy of the hours yet, which isn’t good. If it doesn’t come in on Wednesday I’m going to have to order it from Amazon. Probably the Christian prayer: The Liturgy of the Hours and the Guide for the Liturgy of the Hours (2007). I’d rather buy them from the cute little catholic supply store, since they’ve given me a discount on everything I’ve bought thus far.

But, lent starts on Wednesday, and I have no idea why I decided to go to mass every morning.

And I still haven’t gotten a spiritual director. One of my friends said I could contact hers, but there is something seriously appealing and convenient about having a spiritual director at school.

No Responses Yet to “Inspired by AQ”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

