Prayer in the Spirit

27May07

“In the same way, the Spirit too comes to the aid of our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but the Spirit itself intercedes with inexpressible groanings.” (Rom 8:26)

This week was mass at St. M’s . Last week was St. B’s. I like the priest at St. M’s, but I didn’t want to listen to him go on forever last week. This time I’m glad I did. We read from Roman’s, and as he was giving the homily, he mentioned that verse, and it got me thinking, God knows what I’m asking and what I’m praying for, even when I don’t know the words. And that was a huge comfort. I have always worried I wasn’t very good at prayer, and then worried that I was being vain. Too much to worry about to pray as I should, to praise God, and to hold a real conversation with him. All that worry made it impossible for me to open myself up to hear God in my heart.

Father also spoke about Francis Cardinal Thuan, the former archbishop of Saigon who was imprisoned after the fall of Saigon for 13 years. The Commission on the Saints is looking into his beatification. He taught his prison guards Latin. He wrote two books while imprisoned, one of which is Five Loaves and Two Fish, which I think I’m going to look into.

No Responses Yet to “Prayer in the Spirit”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

