I have a dilemma.

12Oct07

I’m not pro-choice. I was once, and it just didn’t sit right with me. I didn’t come to the realization that abortion was wrong, per se. I came to see that I couldn’t support abortion for the same reason I couldn’t support the death penalty.

Its not my choice, or anyone else’s for that matter, when someone dies. That’s in God’s hands.

My quandary? We’re uninsured. Neither my employer nor B’s offers health care, and its just ridiculously expensive to try to go it alone.

Which means that we use Planned Parenthood for basic and reproductive medical care.

So I’m torn. Yes, I will pray to end abortion but I will not picket my local PP because I receive very necessary care there, whether or not they provide abortions is completely irrelevant to me at this stage of the game.

The earliest feminists believed that if a woman felt she needed an abortion that society had failed her.

Well, society has failed a lot of women. And its not getting any better.  I prefer the Feminists for Life model: to work to make having an abortion unnecessary no matter what the situation.  But we’re a long way from that.

No Responses Yet to “I have a dilemma.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

