An Open Letter to the DNC

11Jan08

An Open Letter to the DNC

Thanks for disenfranchising me.

What? I’ve still got the right to vote? Yes. I do. I would like to point out to you, however that there is a difference between a theoretical right and an actual right. If I had no way to get to the poles on Tuesday, I’d be disenfranchised. I am able to vote on Tuesday, however I have no delegates to seat for the Democratic National Convention. I’ve been disenfranchised.

I don’t want to claim that your decision to strip Michigan of its delegates and punish those candidates who do campaign here is equal to the days when women had no right to vote. I have the right to vote, the right to make my voice heard.

Except for this one time.

Except in what is likely the most important election of this generation.

In a state with a large black population, a failing economy, and a history of very close votes come November.

I understand the idea of making an example out of Michigan. And I don’t f*cking care. You’re not hurting the Michigan Democratic Campaign. You’re hurting the voters.

Do you realize what you’ve done? All that sh*t about change and experience wont help you here. Most of Michigan thinks Washington doesn’t give a sh*t about what happens here anyway.

And you’ve gone along way to make that the reality.

I for one will be supporting secession.

4 Responses to “An Open Letter to the DNC”

  1. 1 Sheree

    Hello, I am still reading up on this, so I am not certain of what is going on there, but it sounds real bad. No matter the excuse, there is no justification for this.

  2. Thanks, its not fun to be a Michigan voter right now.

    For more on the whole messy situation, check out my post: https://shadowsgonegrey.wordpress.com/2008/01/11/a-short-history-of-getting-screwed-by-the-dnc/

  3. 3 Clayton

    From a random reader of blogs….

    In fact, you do have the right to vote, but, the Constitution gives no one the right to have a voice in a political party (the primary). If you join a club, like a political party, you shouldn’t get angry when they start making silly rules. The vote hasn’t even happened yet.


  1. 1 A Short History of Getting Screwed by the DNC « raining on my parade

Leave a Reply

